Latest News and Analysis
Deals and Transactions
Track Drilling (Rigs by operator) | Completions (Frac Spreads)

People | People-Resignation | People-Promotion

Shell Appoints New Company Chairman; Details Other Board Changes

emailEmail    |    printPrint    |    bookmarkBookmark
   |    Thursday,March 11,2021

Royal Dutch Shell plc has announced the appointment of Sir Andrew Mackenzie as the new Company Chair. Andrew will succeed Chad Holliday who will step down on May 18 having served as Chair for six years and as a Board Director since September 2010.

About Mackenzie:

Andrew Mackenzie, a British national, joined Shell's Board in October 2020, after a distinguished career in the energy, petrochemicals and resources sector, latterly as Group CEO of BHP from 2013 to 2019. From 2004 to 2007, at Rio Tinto, he was Head of Industrial Minerals and Diamonds. Prior to this, over a 22-year career at BP, he held senior leadership roles in exploration, research and development, and chemicals. His contributions to geochemistry and earth science led to his appointment as a Fellow of the Royal Society in 2014, and he received a knighthood in 2020 for his services to business, science and technology. Andrew brings to Shell his experience of leadership, his global outlook, and a deep understanding of the energy business and climate action.

Other Director Appointments

The Company announced that Sir Nigel Sheinwald, Non-executive Director, Chair of the Safety, Environment and Sustainability Committee and member of the Nomination and Succession Committee, will not stand for re-election at the 2021 AGM, having served as a Director for nine years.

The Company also announced its intention to propose to the 2021 Annual General Meeting that Jane Lute be appointed a Non-executive Director of the Company with effect from May 19, 2021.

About Lute:

Born in 1956, Jane is a US citizen and an experienced leader of organisations focused on security risks. Following a 16-year career in the US Army, she joined the Carnegie Corporation as an Executive Director of its Commission on Preventing Deadly Conflict. Between 2000 and 2009 she held roles at the United Nations in peacekeeping, field support and peacebuilding. In 2009 she was appointed as Deputy Secretary of the US Department of Homeland Security. Since 2013 Jane has focused on cyber-security, first as the founder of the Council on CyberSecurity, then as Chief Executive of the Center for Internet Security, and latterly as President and Chief Executive Officer of the North American operations of SICPA security inks.

Jane is a Non-executive Director of Marsh & McLennan and the Union Pacific Corporation.

Committee Changes

Safety Environment and Sustainability Committee

  • Catherine Hughes, a Non-executive Director, has been appointed as Chair of the Safety Environment and Sustainability Committee with effect from May 19, 2021. Catherine succeeds Sir Nigel Sheinwald in this role.

Nomination and Succession Committee

  • Dick Boer, a Non-executive Director, has been appointed as a member of the Nomination and Succession Committee with effect from May 19, 2021.


Related Categories :


More    People News

International News >>>

Permian News >>>